Dealing with Uninsured Motorists
Nobody wants to think about the likelihood of being involved in a car accident. Unfortunately, in the course of day-to-day life, as you’re out doing errands or driving to work, there is always that chance that you will find yourself involved in some type of altercation with another driver. Maybe it will be a small fender bender, or maybe something more serious; either way, it’s good to be prepared. Automobile insurance provides the security of knowing that you’ll be covered in the event of an accident; but what about the other driver? What happens if they are at fault, yet they don’t have insurance? Most of us cross paths with uninsured drivers more than we would care to imagine, and in the event of a serious car accident, dealing with an at-fault driver with no insurance makes a challenging situation even more difficult.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
In most states, including South Carolina, automobile drivers are required by law to carry a minimum coverage of automobile insurance. South Carolina law requires motorists to carry some form of liability insurance at all times, and any lapse in coverage is reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Driving without insurance is a serious matter, and can result in penalties such as suspension of driving privileges, license plate and vehicle registration, as well as heavy fines. Uninsured drivers are also held personally liable for any damages caused in the event of an accident. Despite the potential ramifications, a surprising number of people continue to drive without insurance. In fact, national estimates indicate that as many as 1 in 7 people on the roads today lack insurance coverage.
Protection Against Uninsured Drivers
Drivers in South Carolina are required to carry insurance protecting them against uninsured drivers. If you’re involved in a car accident, and the person at fault doesn’t have insurance, your uninsured motorist coverage means your insurance would pay for damages as a result of your accident. The amount your insurance company pays depends on the amount of coverage you’ve selected. According to the South Carolina Department of Insurance, liability and uninsured motorist coverage is required in the following minimum amounts:
- Bodily injury liability per person: minimum $25,000 in coverage
- Bodily injury liability per accident: minimum $50,000 in coverage
- Property damage liability per accident: minimum $25,000 in coverage
The requirement to carry additional insurance to cover uninsured drivers means higher premiums, even with these minimum amounts of coverages. Insured drivers are forced to spend more by paying these premiums, but often, in the event of a serious accident, their uninsured motorist coverage doesn’t cover the entire amount of the damages incurred. Injuries from car accidents can result in hundreds of thousands of dollars in medical bills and physical rehabilitation, and there are often lost wages as a result of your injuries. Property damage can also run significantly higher than what uninsured motorist insurance covers.
Contact Our Car Accident Attorneys for Help
If you or a loved one has been involved in a car accident with an uninsured driver, contact our experienced car accident attorneys for a free review of your case. At Anastopoulo Law Firm we understand that damages from car accidents can run much higher than the state mandates coverage limits. While the insurance company is looking out for its best interests, our trained attorneys in Charleston and throughout South Carolina will be looking out for yours. Don’t settle; call The Anastopoulo Law Firm today. We’ll help you get the compensation you deserve.