What to Do After a Car Accident When Other Driver Has No Insurance
When car accidents and injuries occur, you have a right to expect the at-fault driver to cover any damages you suffer. While the majority of drivers would be unable to pay your medical expenses, property damages, and lost wages out of pocket, their car insurance coverage generally provides for these costs. Unfortunately, despite state car insurance requirements, many drivers neglect to obtain this coverage. The following outlines how common this problem is in South Carolina and what you can do if you are involved in the unfortunate scenario of a car accident when the other driver has no insurance.
South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
The South Carolina Department of Insurance (DOI) advises that all drivers in the state are required to carry a minimum amount of insurance coverage in the event of car accidents and injuries.
- Bodily injury liability coverage: This protects other drivers in the event you are responsible for a car accident resulting in injuries. Drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of $25,000 worth of insurance per person, with a total of $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage: This covers damages suffered by other driver’s car or personal property in the event of an accident in which you are to blame. The minimum amount required is $25,000.
- Uninsured motorist coverage: This protects you in the event of a hit and run, or if you are involved in a car accident in which an uninsured driver is to blame. You are required to carry the same minimum amounts as in the above coverages (25/50/25).
While car insurance companies are required by law to offer you underinsured automobile coverage, in the event you suffer damages that exceed the other’s driver’s insurance limits, you are not required to purchase this coverage.
The provisions requiring uninsured motorist coverage often come in handy in the event you are involved in a car accident when the other driver has no insurance. In fact, according to the Insurance Information Institute (III), as many as 10 percent of all drivers in South Carolina fail to have the proper insurance coverages in place.
For a free legal consultation, call 803-222-2222
Uninsured Driver Car Accidents
Even if a driver is uninsured, they may be able to still register a vehicle under the South Carolina Code of Laws, provided they pay a $550 uninsured motorist fee. This does not prevent them from being held personally liable for any injuries and expenses you suffer in the event of a car accident in which they are to blame.
While you may be able to collect compensation through your own insurance provider, you also have the right to take the at fault driver to court, seeking damages through an order or judgment. Even if they lack the funds to pay these costs, the court may seize assets or order a levy on their property, such as their home or car, which prevents them from selling it until the debt is paid.
Been In An Accident? Get Help Today
There’s never a good time for an accident, but a car accident when the other driver has no insurance can be particularly challenging. It is important to have an experienced attorney on your side to ensure your rights are protected. Call or contact Anastopoulo Law Firm online and request a free consultation today.
Call or text 803-222-2222 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form