How to Get a Police Report for a Car Accident in South Carolina
Let’s discuss How to Get a Police Report for a Car Accident in South Carolina. After a car accident in South Carolina, you can request an official copy of the police report from South Carolina’s Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV). Your request for the report should include a copy of the state’s Request for Collision Report (Form FR-50). And, a $6.00 fee. You can also request a fatality packet, photos, and video footage. Which could strengthen your request for compensation from the at-fault driver.
When we represent you, we will obtain a copy of the crash report on your behalf so you can focus on your recovery. And, our personal injury team will also make sure you understand the details of how to get a police report for a car accident in South Carolina. In addition to how the report can help establish your right to compensation.
Your Car Accident Report Contains Vital Information
Your crash report is invaluable to your personal injury case. It will provide details our investigative team can use to prove the at-fault driver’s negligence in causing the accident and your right to financial recovery. Your car accident report will tell us:
- How to contact the at-fault driver and their insurer
- Contact information for available witnesses
- Whether the at-fault driver was cited for any violations
- Readily apparent damage and damage estimates
- The accident’s sequence of events
- Whether alcohol, drugs, or distractions were involved
Most car accidents are settled out of court after representatives for both sides review the evidence. For this purpose, your car accident report also has value for the at-fault driver’s legal and insurance representatives.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving South Carolina, call 803-222-2222
Our Team Deals with the at-Fault Driver’s Insurance Company
Our team handles all communication and correspondence with the at-fault driver and their insurance company for you. Including claim forms, requests for information, and evidence submission. Further, our involvement means you get a comprehensive look at your personal injury case. And, an understanding of your right to receive compensation for your injuries and other damages.
Moreover, the South Carolina Department of Insurance (SCDOI) requires all registered vehicle owners in the state to maintain minimal auto insurance coverage of:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injuries
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
If the at-fault driver was not insured, we also help you seek compensation from your insurance policy since uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is a mandatory part of your policy. Underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage is not compulsory, but if your policy includes it, we will help you tap into it if needed to cover your damages.
Personal Injury Lawyer Near Me 803-222-2222
File Your Request for Compensation Right Away
Recovering from your injuries can take time. Hence, in South Carolina, the state allows up to three years to file a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit against the at-fault driver, according to S.C. Ann. § 15-3-530. When our team is on your side, you do not have to compromise your recovery time or struggle to meet the state’s mandatory timeline.
Called the statute of limitations, the state’s filing deadline is important. If it expires before you file your lawsuit, you will likely be unable to file it, and the at-fault driver cannot be compelled to cover your costs. Thus, with sufficient notice, our team will ensure compliance with the filing deadline. We can also use that time to investigate your accident and locate witnesses and additional supporting evidence.
Click to contact our Frequently Asked Questions Resource Center today
Read About the Anastopoulo Law Firm Client Experience
An excellent way to understand our client-focused approach to representing car accident victims is by hearing from injury victims we helped in the past. Our previous clients leave testimonials and reviews like these:
- “I was very satisfied with Anastopoulo Law Firm. They make sure as a victim of a wreck…that I came first and foremost, and they fought for me. I say DON’T SCREAM CALL AKIM.” – Deborah Cantrell
- “Quick to settle. Polite, and I would come back. At the closing, Mr. Bass was really nice. The best [of] the lawyers I’ve seen yet. Thank you, guys, so much.” – Shannon Simmons
- “I had a very great experience. They were very friendly and answered all of my questions. They’re also great lawyers that you can trust to get the job done.” – Keisha Sanders
We treat every client we serve with integrity, compassion, and kindness. When handling your personal injury case, we ensure you get the same outstanding client service experience.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Review Your Car Accident Case for Free
So, if you or a loved one was involved in a car accident in South Carolina, our personal injury team could explain how you can get a police report to prove the accident’s cause and the at-fault driver’s liability. Review your case with one of our Anastopoulo Law Firm team members by completing our simple online form or calling (800) 777-7777 today.
Call or text 803-222-2222 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form